Saturday Jan 3/15

My mom came for a visit yesterday. We ate healthy food, went for a walk at the mall & shopped, went to a movie and she gave me a facial. She taught me how to take care of my skin and about washing my face very gently in inward circular motions. Then to use cool water on my face to close the pores before applying facial cream. Oh, she also gave me a haircut.

My mom teaches me to treat myself properly – the way my body needs to be treated to be most healthy. After all that I went to sleep just after 10pm and slept until just before 6am.

She did notice dark eye circles under my eyes and so I’ve found this information below on the subject. I find it very interesting to learn that when we’re tired we produce more cortisol to stay awake and that cortisol also promotes fat accumulation. One great reason to retire to bed early.

“Well the answer is thought to lie in how the body acts when it’s low on energy. When the body is tired, production of the chemical cortisol is dramatically increased to help give you the energy you need to stay awake. Among many other things, cortisol actually increases the volume of the blood in your body, which causes the blood vessels (including the ones below your eyes) to engorge to accommodate it. As we’ve already mentioned, dark circles are mostly caused by us seeing our blood vessels / blood through our skin, so it stands to reason that when those blood vessels are engorged, they’d be easier to see, even in people who may have been blessed with thicker skin below their eyes.

So, whether by passing on their genes to you or for not letting you sleep in after a gaming all-nighter when you’re young, it’s all your parent’s fault. ;-) Something that is/was even more reckless of them as cortisol promotes fat accumulation. So your lack of sleep is likely contributing to more than just under-eye cosmetic issues.”

Reference: http://www.todayifoundout.com/index.php/2014/06/causes-dark-circles-eyes-sleeping-people-really-tired/

Leave a Reply

